Squamish Men’s Amateur


                                                                                         June 17-18, 2017

This 46th Squamish Men’s Amateur saw eight former winners from the last 10 years return to defend their titles yielding to two new winners in 2016; Jarad Boddy a resident of Coquitlam winning Low Gross with a score of 141 and Larry Oliver from Bowen Island taking top prize in the Low Net category with a score of 140.

The 2016 event attracted its strongest field to date with 62 % of the players having single digit handicaps , however a survey was circulated proposing a few new options to retain players that have participated in the event for years that no longer enjoy playing from the tips, yet at the same time recognize a very competitive field that also enjoys the Course. No decisions have been made, but the survey results were: Flights: 74% preferred (weighted equal between <9 and >9 handicaps, Partial Redraw: 58% preferred(weighted equally), Total Redraw: 68% preferred (65% <9 ) 

The weekend includes: two rounds of golf, three meals: breakfast, lunch and dinner along with a couple of drinks and SVGC’s traditional first tee gift.  The Club offers the traditional beef barbeque on the open spit, now 46 years running. The Superintendent had the greens up to 12.5 last year a tradition SVGC likes to maintain. It was noted by many that the Course was in the best condition in 2016 the players have ever seen.

The local hotels offered great rates – ranging from $89 to $159, with one of the world’s most scenic drives not to mention the New York Times naming Squamish as “one of 52 places in the World to visit”.

The complete results for the 2016 Squamish Men’s Amateur are still posted .

Look forward to hosting you again!

Brian Avey – General Manager


Men’s Amateur Entry Form 2016

Congratulations to Terry Oiom, who won a free round of golf by being randomly selected from the 50 people that registered before May 1st! and to Dave Gottselig who also won a free round of golf being randomly selected on June 1st. Stay tuned for this year’s early bird contest.